Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about new products, VIP offers, blog features & more.

Marijuana and Real Estate: The info you need

It goes by many names; cannabis, pot, weed and marijuana are just a few. The recreational cannabis industry has always existed but now it is a hot topic since it became legal this past October in Canada.  Adults 19 and older can now purchase pot legally and are permitted to use it in their private residence, including outdoor spaces. In addition, Ontario is allowing people to grow up to four plants per residence. According to Statistics Canada, over 5 million Canadians use marijuana, and those are just the ones who admit it.

As a Realtor, I can’t help think about how the real estate market will be affected, especially in Guelph which tends to have a liberal, green centred view with lots of young adults who are more open to choice. Many questions linger about how personal use and cultivation will impact value, desirability and insurability of homes? How will landlords and condos deal with people smoking and growing in their units? Do Millennials, Gen Xers and Boomers have different views on the topic? Unfortunately, the answers to questions are hazy and we won’t fully know for some time. Because legalization is Canada wide we can’t even compare the effect like we could if it was a single city or county. In terms of real estate whether your a buyer, seller, landlord or tenant the new legislation affects you.

RESIDENTIAL

Aside from being concerned about smelling your neighbours favourite pastime, many are concerned about growing pot indoors. While only four plants are permitted at a time there are no limits on plant size and frequency of growth. This has critics worried that the high heat required to grow marijuana and the resulting humidity could cause a defect such mould, fungus and water damage. This may result in increased questions from buyers regarding the past use of a property.