Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about new products, VIP offers, blog features & more.

Guelph – My home, my safe space

Living somewhere you feel safe and accepted is important. This is true for most people, but this is especially true for people in the LGBTQ+ community. I don’t think I need to prove to you why I make this statement. Look on the news, check your social media. Even in 2018, safe spaces are not always easy to find and finding a safe space to raise a family in a same-sex relationship is even harder. Tolerance is not the same as acceptance. 

For a long time, I thought that I would live my whole life in the gay village in Toronto’s downtown core. When I was a realtor in Toronto, I would check the new listings daily, hoping to find a condo that I could afford. As a first-time home buyer and out lesbian, I thoroughly believed that if I wanted to live a life where I felt safe and accepted, I had to be in the village. I came to accept that if I wanted to raise a family with my partner and not worry about discrimination, we had to stay in Toronto. Little did I know there was a place besides Toronto that could offer me safety, minus the everyday hustle and bustle of a large city.

I spent a lot of my youth in Guelph and Wellington County. Stone Road Mall was “the mall” to go to when you wanted to hang out with friends. Driving up Highway 6 was always an exciting adventure. I genuinely enjoyed my time in the area, but it was not until I had a chat with a friend from the University of Guelph that I truly understood how awesome the city and its LGBTQ+ friendly community is. Below are some of the key reasons why I decided to leave Toronto and finally settle down in Guelph. 

A sense of community – Guelph has a very vibrant LGBTQ+ community