Onward Willow – There’s no place like home

Last year, I was fortunate enough to purchase a home.  Major milestone.  I am happy to have a coffee with you some time to explain that story further, but for now all you need to know was this was big move for my family and I.  We knew the criteria was: 4 or 5 bedrooms (lots of kids lets remember), at least 2 bathrooms, a good-sized yard, character, in the Downtown area…….and as inexpensive as possible. Done. I’m a Realtor, and at this point I will just keep my eyes and ears open. Maybe we will buy in a year or so, who knows.  With that idea in my back pocket, I move on with my work in a busy 2016 market.
But while gathering listings to show a client looking for possible income potential, I toss in a 1970’s side split on a cul-de-sac in Onward Willow.  I know the house is vacant so it will be an easy to add to my list of properties, this listing has a ton of potential….and they live in Onward Willow……maybe they won’t care it’s in Onward Willow?.  Lets rewind.  Why should that point stand out?  Why would it matter?  Guelph is widely known as one of the safest, cleanest, best places to live in Canada. But what is the deal with the streets somewhere between just before Woodlawn down to the train tracks running parallel to Paisley, centered between the Hanlon and Edinburgh? Well, it is an old rap sprinkled with a little ignorance.  Heavy word I am aware, but it is true.
But this may be why.